Showing 1928 results

Authority record

MaCauly, James Leonard

  • 1895-1969

James Leonard MaCaulay- 1895- 1969 Born 30 September 1895 at Lower Millstream , Kings County , New Brunswick , Son of Samuel Alexander Macauley and Isabella Margaret Patterson . Graduated from Agriculture College , Truro Nova Scotia in 1914. Served in the Canadian Army in France during World War i. Was a war pensioner after being wounded at the front lines in France/Belgium June 1916. James worked on the Soldiers Settlement Board in the early 1920's. He was a life member of the Royal Canadian Legion Branch # 76 Norton N.B. Died 01 November 1969 at Sussex , Kings County New Brunswick . James and his Wife Gertrude rest in the Church of the Accension Burial Grounds at Apohaqui, N.B.

McQuinn, Warren

  • Person

Warren McQuinn was with the 43rd Squadron . It is not known if he was a Soldier in training or there as a Civilian . When he returned to Sussex he owned and operated WC McQuinn's Garage .

Smith, Wilfred Joyce

  • Person
  • 1917

Wilfred Joyce Smith Regimental Number 710182 serving overseas 104th Battalion Paymaster Killed Nov 6th 1917

Bulmer, Harley B.

  • Person
  • 1941

Harley B. Bulmer : G296 L/Cpl Bulmer, H.B. Dorchester N.B.

Deleavy, Dee

  • Person
  • 1962 1965

Dee Deleavy

Kennedy, H.S.

  • Person
  • 1940-1961

H. S. Kennedy was born in High River, Alberta and he enlisted in 1940 as a trooper in the Calgary Regiment (Tank). In 1944 he was commissioned as a lieutenant in the Canadian Armoured Corps and upon graduation he went to Italy and North-West Europe. Kennedy was released from service in 1945 but re-enlisted in 1949 with Lord Strathcona's horse (Royal Canadians). In 1950-1951 he served in Korea, afterwards he went to RCAC school where he worked in D&M Squadron and as assistant chief until 1954. 1957 Kennedy joined the 8th Hussars at Camp Gagetown, with the Hussars he served a few months in Egypt as part of the original reconnaissance squadron. In 1961 he was promoted to major was worked as a General Staff Officer at Oakville and returned to 8CH later that same year. Kennedy later in life became the 8CH Honouray Colonel.

George Campbell and Sons Ltd.

  • Corporate body
  • ca. 1855 - ca. 1950

Ronald Campbell emigrated from Scotland and was the first Campbell known to Sackville. He married Margaret Keenan in 1829 and began his business in 1855. His son, George Campbell, became a manufacturer of carriages in Middle Sackville, as well as a Funeral Director. The building which was George Campbell and Sons’ carriage building facility was originally built as a tannery in 1838 by John Beal. It was purchased and converted into a carriage factory in 1855 by Ronald Campbell. Up until 1949, when the factory finally closed its doors due to the rising popularity in automobiles, the George Campbell and Sons Company produced horse-drawn vehicles, tools, agricultural equipment, and caskets. Subsequent generations would branch out into both hay dealership and undertaking. After closing its doors, the tools and contents of the factory remained relatively undisturbed until 1998 when William and Barbara Campbell donated the old factory to the Tantramar Heritage Trust.

Anderson, Job

  • Person
  • 20 January 1838 - 1910

Job Anderson (b. 20 January 1838) was a farmer in Sackville, New Brunswick. He was married to Emma [?] Anderson (b. 10 June 1845). They had one daughter, Nell (b. 14 March 1868) and one son, Fred (b. 3 November 1883).

Volunteer Enlistment Register

  • Corporate body
  • 27 September 1915 - 30 August 1917

When Britain declared war on Germany, on 4 August 1914, Canada was automatically at war. Recent British immigrants and unemployed workers were the first to enlist for military service. By the summer of 1915, the Canadian Expeditionary Force was looking for 150,000 recruits, and in January 1916, Prime Minister Robert Borden pledged 500,000 Canadian soldiers for the war effort in Europe.

In the fall of 1917 massive enlistment rallies were being held in New Brunswick to encourage men to volunteer for military service. However, recruitment in New Brunswick was slow, as it was in other regions of the country. At the same time, Allied casualties were mounting at the front. In May 1917, Prime Minister Borden returned to Canada from the Imperial War Conference in London and from visits to the trenches, having decided to conscript men for overseas service. On 29 August 1917 the Military Service Act, which introduced conscription or the compulsory enlistment of citizens for military service, became law.

Edwards, Muriel Erma

  • Person
  • 24 August 1904 - 24 May 1984

Muriel Erma Edwards, the daughter of Alice M. Mealey (1870-1953) and Hamilton Irvine Edwards (1865-1940), was born at Whitehead, Kings County, New Brunswick, on 24 August 1904. The couple had no fewer than five other children: Emma Gladys (b. 1892), Arthur Roderick (b. 1893), Harold Lee (b.1895), Arnold Roy (b.1898), and Greta Eileen (1908-1998). The children's birth records indicate that the family lived in several communities between 1892 and 1908: Saint John, St. John County; Hoyt Station and Blissville, Sunbury County; and Whitehead, Kings County.

During the First World War, Muriel Edwards, along with hundreds of other New Brunswick school children, wrote letters and sent treats to Canadian soldiers serving overseas at the Front. After completing public school and sometime prior to 1940, Muriel attended the Provincial Normal School, probably in Fredericton, N. B. By 1942 she was teaching school in or near Burton, Sunbury County. On 25 October of that year she married Charles Allen Harper, of Fredericton, at Fredericton. Little is know of her later life. Muriel Edwards Harper died on 24 May 1984 and was buried in the Fredericton Rural Cemetery.

Results 1831 to 1840 of 1928